John Tyler Still Has Living Grandchildren

John Tyler, tenth President of the United States

Image via Wikipedia

John Tyler was born in 1790. He was the tenth President of the United States and served from 1841 to 1845.

You may be wondering why I’m sharing information on President Tyler. It’s for a piece I’m calling (for now) “The Best Thing on the Net Today.” Periodically, I’d like to present something I have found on the Internet that I think is interesting, educational, and/or just plain weird. In any case, it’ll be something I think is worthy of sharing with my friends, and so it’s also worthy of sharing here. (If you can think of a better title, I’d love to hear it; please leave any suggestions in the comments section below.)

So let’s get back to John Tyler. You can find the interesting information on him right on his Wikipedia page.

As of August 2011, President Tyler (who, let’s keep in mind, was born in 1790) has two living grandsons through his son Lyon Gardiner Tyler (1853-1935). Lyon Gardiner Tyler, Jr., was born in 1924. Harrison Ruffin Tyler was born in 1928.

Unbelievable! The tenth President of the U.S., who was born in the eighteenth century, still has grandchildren alive in the twenty-first century! Is anyone else as blown away by this as I am?

2 Comments

Filed under Politics, Strange But True, The Best Thing on the Net Today

2 responses to “John Tyler Still Has Living Grandchildren

  1. Pingback: John Tyler – Senate Resignation Letter (1836) « Rice on History

  2. English

    I went to school with a Sousalina (sp?) Tyler– this was in 1970. My mother told me that her father was John Tyler’s grandson, which blew her away then. I’ve been looking for proof that my mother remembered this right (the ages are all okay– she was born in 1937, and she said that he was only about 10 years older than she was.) Whichever son it was, Sousalina was only 6, like me, so he waited awhile to have kids too!

Leave a Reply

